Minnesotan Adventures

Hi all!

It has been absolutely forever since I have been on here; I am undergoing some major gradual changes in my life. Which sounds a little confusing, but I just realized this myself, in fact. It’s a pretty incredibly feeling actual, being able to reflect on yourself truthfully and with a complete raw and difficult honesty, to be able to see where and how you are making changes in your life. I grant a lot of this to my increased time devoted to yoga practice. Finding myself, finding peace, and breathing in life. How blessed we all truly are.

St. Paul Hotel, St. Paul, Minnesota
St. Paul Hotel, St. Paul, Minnesota

About a month ago, my mother, sister, and I traveled to Minnesota for a girls’ weekend. Overall it was a nice time, however, there are two parts of that trip that really left me feeling alive. One of the evenings we went to downtown St.Paul to visit the Jazz festival (one that we never really saw, however, was able to get my first taste of swing dancing) it ended up pouring rain so we walked throughout the sky walks. We came across the St.Paul hotel, as I spent almost twenty minutes analyzing the architectural drawings of the building from the early 1900s upon its conception. I was dragged away by an aunt to join the others in the small dining area tucked into the corner of the lobby, as soon as I sat down, however, I noticed the canvas on the wall across from us. Immediately, I thought… that must be a Gustav Klimt work! It looks stylistically just as similar to his work The Kiss. (This is my favorite painting, so I was incredibly excited about this revelation). Here, you can see it here. As I ran over there dragging my mother beside me almost

:: The Kiss ::  Gustav Klimt 1908-1909
:: The Kiss ::
Gustav Klimt
1908-1909

shrieking in excitement I showed her how the same vertical pattern of the painting was similar to his style and that generally the shapes are symbolically important to the story of the painting. Because I was not certain we decided to go speak with the concierge about the artwork, unfortunately they were unsure so we went back to our seats in the dining area. I decided to use the handy-dandy smart phone (although in a way in felt like cheating in this detective excursion) and come to find out it was in fact, based off the painting of Klimt, of the Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I. However, the face was drastically different, in fact, it was not of any importance to the painting in the lobby, almost like it was hidden away and not mean to be a focal point at all. Which is exactly opposite to that of Klimt’s work. I was astounded by how enticing Adele’s face is in the original painting. It was one of Klimt’s last pieces during the golden era, the paint was by the way composed of true gold. As you can see from the image, there are so many similarities between the two. Come to find out the painting of Adele has recently culminated into a movie featuring Ryan Reynolds. Cool, eh? Okay okay so I finally get to the food portion of this, although it’s not yet about the beautiful delicious looking crepes featured on the beginning of this blog. Too bad I don’t have a picture of the food we gorged ourselves on at the hotel restaurant, however, we had the most amazing pizza anyone has ever had in their life. Wild mushroom pizza with truffle butter and arugula. My sister and I died and went to heaven it was absolutely amazing. Seriously go check it out if you’re ever on that end of the midwest.

Adele Bloch-Bauer, Gustav Klimt, 1907
Adele Bloch-Bauer, Gustav Klimt, 1907

So! The crepes. La Belle Crepe, is a restaurant/cafe that is probably the size of a five meter long and three meter wide space…covering the left wall (other than the large mirror) are bills of various amounts from different countries. Above there is an over-sized mixer and various other french pieces of decor, and to boot it is complete with 20 – 30 something French adults with blue and white striped shirts. the first time I went there it was November and freezing cold, so my good friend and I sat huddled in the small space of about three feet and ate the amazingness of their crepes. I recently went back because I just HAD to take my mother there, as she loves food just as much if not more than I do. To start we ordered our Cafe au Lait, because come on, if we don’t both have at least 6 cups of coffee in the morning between the two of us something is majorly wrong. The chef soon brought out the two orders (which we both decided to share) the first was the Dill & Lox which contained smoked salmon, garlic mushrooms, dill havarti, and topped with a delicious hollondaise sauce. It was an absolutely amazing combination that mumwas savory enough to fill an empty breakfast stomach, but light enough to allow room for the second crepe 🙂 we ate through it rather quickly because it was truly so good, we swiftly moved onto the second mango crepe filled with almond paste and creme fraiche. I know, with the coffeeyou’re jealous aren’t you? I mean I would be, because it’s delicious, but I’m not, because I’ve eaten there three times. So will you?

Leave a Reply

