The Five Hardest Aspects of Giving Up Facebook

Good morning all!

Happy weekend 🙂 I have decided to write about the five hardest aspects of giving up Facebook. At the end of November I decided that I had had enough. I am a rather emotional person and tend to be easily affected by emotions. Facebook, fortunately and unfortunately reminds you of your past, subconsciously gives rise to comparisons, and consumes a large portion of our time throughout day. My reasons were a mixture of all of these reasons as well as for the simple fact of the lack of privacy in my everyday life. You want to stay in touch with numerous people, however, simultaneously are they all individuals that you want keeping tabs on almost all of your every moves (if you post anything at all…or are tagged for that matter). I even ended up sporadically reactivating my account just because you need it to have access to so many other different sites! So here is my list of top five reasons it was difficult to close this account (and then having to reopen it for random occasions).

  1. Pictures!!! You have the capability to export all the data ever associated with your Facebook account, i.e. pictures, conversations, etc. I decided to subscribe to Jib Jab to make holiday cards as well as some really awesome birthday e-cards. I re-activated my account for a brief twenty minutes to quickly obtain some bad ass pictures for these dancing cards.
  2. Messaging. My boyfriend is Canadian; although we live closer together than we do to our parents, we are still in different countries. It is much easier to communicate a lot of information via typing on the computer rather than texting. Even when we call each other, we much rather prefer to do so via some sort of online application rather than the telephone. (Although I am 100% positive our plans allow us to text/call for free as long as we are in our own respective countries). I chose to switch my avenue of communication to Google Hangouts instead, this has worked, however, the quality of the phone conversations are weak and inconsistent. The volume particularly is a laborious aspect as half the conversation was spent saying “What? Could you repeat that?” Additionally, I use all Mac products, the propinquity of using this product between Mac and other products is pretty much non-existent when using this application and the updates are not prone to Mac.
  3. Events. At least in Detroit, SOOOOO much jazz is going on every weekend. Many of these businesses/ organizations use Facebook to keep people informed of the happenings, to invite them to events, and advertise. When you aren’t connected to Facebook you don’t receive these updates, as e-mail campaigns are not always utilized by these organizations. It is much easier to reach the masses via social media; and well, if you aren’t connected YOU DON’T KNOW.
  4. Business Websites. I live in Detroit, a place where so many up and coming restaurants are starting their businesses. An issue that I ran into on numerous occasions was that many restaurants or businesses would not have an operating website, however, utilized Facebook as their means for communicating with current and potential clients. With a de-activated Facebook, you cannot view these pages. I found myself re-activating my account for about ten minutes when this occurred. Bleh, irritating.
  5. Life Announcements. I was part of a sorority in college. I don’t keep in touch with every person every day, however, Facebook served as an avenue for us all to communicate. (Even other friends that I don’t keep in touch with on a daily basis). Within the past month, four of my friends have gotten engaged and announced said engagements on Facebook. I missed them all! In fact, in these moments I lived vicariously through my roommate/ best friend for all the details. We are so used to portraying these moments on social media that currently there are no more special phone calls to announce the big news.

So as you can see there are numerous draw backs to not having Facebook activated or in use, although I have to say, after I got in the habit of not posting every small detail of my life (as I may or may not have done when I was younger) it was also an easy task as well. I can’t say immediately that I used my time better because we all have our ways of wasting away the random five or ten minutes throughout the day, however, it was nice to feel off the grid even for those three weeks. I have plans to de-activate again; now that I am in the practice of not using Facebook, it is the last application I check on my phone (if I do) and I spend significantly less time using it. I have to say though, it is a bit concerning that everyone has such a hard time staying away from Facebook. As I write this, my sister who has not had an activated account for at least four months has sent me a friend request. Damn does this digital age have strings attached on us.

